Tags

, , , ,

I am guilty of theft. I have stolen birch bark, näver in swedish, from a cut down birch in the middle of the forest. So the criminal act was tiny.

image

I have been thinking of collecting birch bark for a long time but I haven’t known how and where to do it. Eventually I just decided to try, inspired by some russian web tutorials.

image

But I had to pay, in blood.

image

I really hope the birch bark is enough and collected in such a way that I will be able to make something of it.

image

Näver

I have an heritage to take responsible of. My grandmother Ethel Sandberg, living in the small village Morjärv in the far north of Sweden, was a fabulous craftsman. She worked a lot with birch bark, unfortunately I do not have a single piece made by her hands.
But I happened to come across a beautiful little bag at a flee market in Gåxsjö for which I payed almost nothing: 50 swedish kronor (about 4 pounds).

image

image

Näverväska, bag made of birch bark

