Tags

, , ,

What is a Pietà?
Earlier this summer me and my family visited Lübeck and Bremen, and the many churches together with the Paula Modersohn-Becker / Ludwig Roselius museums.

image

In LR museum I stopped in front of a wodden sculpture in a rather dark corner and, as I always do I told my daughters, 8 and 11 years old, what the art work was. “This is a Pietà”.  I never expect them to listen but this time I was surprised and of course very happy.
My daughter Alma looked at it with a glance and said:
“What is a Pietà?”
She was listening! And now she wanted to know more!

image

Tilman Riemenschneider: Beweinung Christi, um 1515, Museen Böttcherstraße, Ludwig Roselius Museum, Bremen

The Paula Modersohn-Becker museum was just as interesting for the girls. They walked through the three rooms and gave the work of arts points – all of them got terrible points – but that was also a way of relating to the paintings.

image

Besucher vor Paula Modersohn-Becker, Alte Armenhäuslerin im Garten mit Glaskugel, 1907, Foto: freiraumfotografie, Bremen

PMB museum is the first in the world dedicated to a female artist. Paula was a great inspiration to the artist Berta Hansson, my husband’s relative.

In Lübeck The Dome was one of the churches we visited. I was constantly hunted by my daughters “let’s leave!”.

image

I forced them to stop in front of a gigantic carving used for printing. I was amazed by the size.

image

image

To me the tour in the churches ended with a sucess through the question: “Why are we visiting all these churches?”

